Loving More Than One

Polyamory as it relates to my life and written from my perspective only. MY thoughts, feelings and opinions.

What’s Been Happening

on January 23, 2010

My life has been “just life” lately. Not that that is a bad thing. No major drama is nice for a change.

First, Dirk and I have been able to spend some time together. That’s all we needed and I really knew that. After so long together, we have pretty much figured out what we need. Whether it is a quiet night at home, a romantic evening out, or doing something we’ve never done before. We can not, however, control his work schedule (that most definitely does not correspond with mine) and do not have the opportunities to do those things as soon as needed. We’ve learned to make plans and schedule things. And occasionally we get to the something spontaneous.

Dirk had a complication that seemed to be related to the surgery he had in June (I posted about that then if you are interested). We spent a week nervous about what they would find with the test they scheduled. Thankfully, that turned out to be only something minor and was fixed.

I haven’t seen Chane much lately. He said we could go something last weekend but never finalized anything with me. We should see them this coming weekend. That means that within the last month I have only seen him once…when we all four had the chance to catch supper together unexpectedly. I’m not happy about that but I hope that can be improved upon during the next month.

I’ve decided that one’s children either do not call you or they only call when they need something.

The youngest and I signed the papers for a car for him. The next day, he lost his job. Two or three of them did but now I am really considering trying to find a part-time job of my own to help with his expenses. Dirk and I have always resisted that in the past because we have such a hard time seeing each other sometimes due to his schedule that we didn’t want to risk reducing that. But the youngest hasn’t been able to find another job yet. And frankly, we cannot afford to pay for two households.

The oldest is still happy it seems. Granted, I was leery about him getting re-married so quickly but it seems to be working for them. I’m glad to see that. He’s a good father and, with this marriage, it looks like he has someone that will work with him and I hope to see exactly what a good husband I know he is capable of being. And seeing someone appreciate him is nice.

Leave a Reply

