Loving More Than One

Polyamory as it relates to my life and written from my perspective only. MY thoughts, feelings and opinions.

I Like Technology

on February 7, 2011

Daily Topic: “Could you live without the internet for a week? For a month?”

Oh my, oh my. It would be difficult but I could most likely do it for a week. A month is something else all together. And not just because I like it. I do pay bills and do my banking online.

We don’t currently have internet access at our home. We’ve been helping our youngest get started in a new city and that’s one of the bills we let drop for a while. Cable TV and internet access.

Now, that isn’t to say we don’t have any internet access. We do. On our smart phones as well as at the office. And we have free hotpots in our town that we can use.

We depend rather heavily on our ability to use the internet. Bills, research, blogs, online stores, communication with others, etc.

I have wondered what we would do if the internet disappeared. How did we used to get some of these things done? We did. We managed to go to the library if we needed to research something. We paid bills my mailing checks. We sent letters to keep in touch. We actually walked into a store to purchase something.

Are our lives happier now because we can do all this from the comfort of our homes? I wouldn’t say happier. I personally just like the convenience of it.  I still shop in physical stores and I still call my family instead of emailing them. I do admit that I wouldn’t want to lose the online banking and the ability to do research so quickly.

I like technology. I read ebooks. But that doesn’t prevent me from enjoying the purchase of a traditional book sometimes. Ebooks are easier to store and take up less room and are convenient to carry with you. But, there’s nothing like the smell and feel of a bound book. I’d hate to have to completely give that up as well.

I didn’t use to use a cell phone much at all. I don’t like to talk on the phone in general. But, I reached a point years ago, with my children playing sports and not being at my home much at all, that if I wanted to talk to my sisters, I needed to be creative. So, entered the basic cell phone. Then came smart phones and I’ve never looked back. Little computers at my fingertips. What’s not to like about that?

My husband says I love my tech gadgets. He’s right. I do. But, I’m passing that along to him. He’s getting into them more and more himself. 🙂

And, frankly, without the internet and such gadgets, it would have been hell to try and keep up with a long distance poly relationship. I live with hubby, I get to see and talk with him. I didn’t with Chane and we relied heavily on such ways to communicate.

2 responses to “I Like Technology

  1. ThisPolyRedhead says:

    I know that a lot of people feel that technology has made us more distant from the people around us. And it CAN do that.

    But there are times where it has really helped make us closer to the people we already know. I have a Droid. I use it to tweet, facebook, blog, search the internet, text my friends, etc. The polyamory “movement” (for lack of a better word) has been strengthened by having being able to “find stuff” online… I’m part of local email groups, meetups organized online, etc.

    So, it’s really all in how you handle it, I think.

  2. Oneof4 says:

    I know what you mean. I don’t feel it makes me more distant. I use it so much for communication! If I have a thought about my sister throughout the day, I will text her and check in with her. In the past I would have had to wait until I could make a phone call and then maybe I would forget it. It keeps me in touch with my children too.

    You are correct. It’s all in how you use technology. As with anything you can go overboard. Maybe I like it so much because I feel I do use it effectively but still have face to face contact as well.

    Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

