Loving More Than One

Polyamory as it relates to my life and written from my perspective only. MY thoughts, feelings and opinions.

Time Passes

on March 3, 2011

Time wastes our bodies and our wits, but we waste time, so we are quits.  ~Author Unknown

Isn’t it amazing how time just continues to go on whether we want it to or not? Whether we notice or not?

The older I get, the years go faster and faster. I know I’ve heard that from the time I was young and felt time crept by. But, it’s one of those things that holds true.

It doesn’t matter if we are living life to it’s fullest or just barely living. It doesn’t matter if things are going well or badly. Time moves on at the same pace. No matter what it feels at the time. And lately it feels it is speeding by.

There are still so many things I want to do with my life that I worry I won’t get it fit in. It isn’t as if I have a bad life. It’s stressful at times, I’ll admit that but a week is gone before I know it. And then it’s a month. Then before I know it it’s another year gone by.

We have a 23 yo and our baby is turning 20 next month. That doesn’t seem possible. It truly doesn’t. Where did that time go?

How is it possible that Dirk and I have been together for 29 years now? Don’t get me wrong. I do find that amazing. In more ways than one. That we’ve made it work so long is awesome. That that is even a number I should be able to measure in years spent with someone is mind-blowing. Shouldn’t I not even be that old much less been in a relationship with someone that long?

Dirk had his birthday for this year already and mine will be in a couple of months. We are on the downside to 50. Closer to 50 that away from it. How is that possible? How do I measure my life? I haven’t done all I want to. I’ve made mistakes. I procrastinate. I haven’t planned well. But, still, it’s been a good one. Maybe not as full as it should be but it’s been good overall. I have to be thankful for that.

It just hits me out of the blue at times that time marches on without me. It doesn’t care if I’m aware of it passing. It doesn’t care if I make good use of it. It just steadily plugs along on it’s way.

I need to be more conscious of this in the hopes to better plan those things I want to accomplish in life. All of them aren’t big plans. It would be sad to let the small, obtainable things not happen because I wasn’t paying attention.

Leave a Reply

