Loving More Than One

Polyamory as it relates to my life and written from my perspective only. MY thoughts, feelings and opinions.

Days of Truth Day Two: Something I Love About Myself

on March 14, 2011

You know this is more hard than the what I hate about myself. It isn’t that I don’t like things about myself, I do. I may not have had the ability often in the past but the older I get the more I like about me. The less I find fault with me.

And that’s what I think I’m choosing today to love about myself. It’s that I have found peace with who I am.

Not that I’m say I don’t need to continue to grow as I go through life. It’s that I’m happy with the growth I’ve made until now. I wouldn’t live some things over even knowing things I know now. I wouldn’t be the same person as I am today if I had done things differently.

And overall….I like the person I am now.

I have issues still. Improvements I could make. For example, I could stand to lose some weight. However, I no longer cringe if I look in the mirror at myself naked. I used to. And this was when I was younger and things just looked better on a whole in the mirror. I couldn’t see that then. Now, I see, that while I may need to live a bit healthier, my appearance doesn’t define me.

Another thing, I’ve had enough years go by now that I also don’t have much patience with some aspects. Drama for one. I’ve had the time to learn some things are not worth the aggravation of being around that. At work, at home, or any where. Live is too short to fret about some things. You can’t be living it to the fullest if you worry about small stuff you can’t change.

I still stress about things but that’s a big thing for me to have learned. To live a happier live by learning to differentiate between what you can’t and can’t change and let the things you can’t go. I like that about the me I am these days.

I like that I realize I’m not perfect, am never going to be perfect, and others shouldn’t expect me to be perfect. I like that I’m happy trying to be the best me I can be in this point and time.

I like that I’ve finally realized I can not do it all. In fact, I’m getting older and I won’t even be able to do all that I was once able to do. And this is ok. I just have to make priorities in life and go from there. Everything can not be at the top of the list.

And I like that I try to make sure my needs are taken care of as well these days. Huge step for me.

Life is a bit out of sync these days, not bad, in fact good for the most part, but still a bit out of sync if that makes sense. But I like the fact that I can see this and know that I don’t have to panic and get it immediately purring again. That I’ve learned some things work out better if you allow them to work at the pace best to accomplish that. Full speed ahead isn’t always the answer.

I like that I am liking myself more as time goes by.

Leave a Reply

