Loving More Than One

Polyamory as it relates to my life and written from my perspective only. MY thoughts, feelings and opinions.

Busy Creative Time

on May 3, 2011

Something you may not know about me. I crochet.

Right now, I am crocheting a lot. I have been since a few months before Christmas. I learned from my grandmother at a young age. I let it go for periods of time but never forgot how.

Most of my years I’ve followed a pattern strictly. I didn’t deviate from it. Over the last few years I’ve learned to adapt them to something that better suits me or the idea of what I wanted to begin with. And now, I’ve been experimenting with my own. In the last year or two, I’ve been doing some original patterns. Designing? I’ve enjoyed that but I suck at writing them down.

I’m trying different yarns and hooks and gifting people with things. I can’t keep it all for myself. 🙂 And I’ve even done some things for charity.

I have a creative streak that I have to indulge. More at some times than others. I’ve used my photography for this as well but I just can not seem to get back into that for some reason.

Dirk just lets me spend what I feel we can afford (sometimes more) and listens to me tell him what I’ve done, and go on about the new yarn. I bought a book I’ve been wanting. Just a book with all kinds of stitches in it. Not a pattern book. But my imagination, and therefore mouth, just went on and on. I found him smiling at me. Because of the enjoyment and excitement I was getting by just looking at that book.

I have things to make on my list. Each family member gets to pick out an afghan for me to make them. I have things I want to try. And I come across things I want to do for others.

I spend all my free time (and some that should be used on the house) doing this right now. I may burn myself out at some point but even if I stop for a while, I know I’ll come back to this.

What’s something I don’t know about you?

Leave a Reply

